Spotlight shines on Churchill’s star staff

Staff from Churchill Community College, Wallsend have been selected as finalists in three separate categories of this year’s UK-wide Pearson Teaching Awards; otherwise known as ‘The Oscars for Teachers’.

Representatives from the Pearson Awards will visit the school this Friday (16 May) - which is also ‘Thank a Teacher Day’ – to present the Churchill finalists with trophies and awards to celebrate their achievements.

The school’s Teaching and Learning Team are through to the final in the category ‘Outstanding School Team of the Year in a Secondary School’. They will receive a Silver National Teaching Award and trophy and will find out if they are overall winners when they attend the national final ceremony in London, in October.

Dedicated staff member Alan Strachan is through to the final in the ‘Ted Wragg Lifetime Achievement Award’. Alan will received a Silver National Teaching Award and trophy and will also find out in October  if he is overall winner.

And Teaching Assistant Gillian Mulligan is a finalist in the ‘Teaching Assistant of The Year in a Secondary School’ category and has been Highly Commended.

In addition, Headteacher David Baldwin has been Highly Commended in the category ‘Most Outstanding Headteacher in a Secondary School’, Malcolm Jacobs has been Highly Commended in the category ‘Ted Wragg Lifetime Achievement Award’ and Heather Walls and Emma Duckworth have been Highly Commended as ‘Most Outstanding teacher in a Secondary School’.

David Baldwin, Headteacher, said: “Churchill has been fantastically successful in the National Teaching Awards for 2014, sponsored by Pearson Education. The college has been visited and rigorously assessed by the national judges for our finalists in each category to reach this point. Finalists were selected from over 20,000 nominations and Churchill’s staff join a list of exceptional teachers who are the stars of the education profession."

The Pearson Teaching Awards were established by David (Lord) Puttnam in 1999, to celebrate and recognize outstanding educational professionals. 

Oscar-winning actress Emma Thompson, president of the Teaching Awards said: ‘I am genuinely proud and honoured to be the president of the Teaching Awards. I owe so much of what I’ve done to my fantastic teachers at school and university and it is exciting to join in celebrating what is probably the most important profession of them all.’ 

Rod Bristow, President of Pearson UK said: ‘Supporting the Pearson Teaching Awards gives us a unique opportunity to champion exceptional teaching professionals across the UK. Pearson has long held lifelong learning to be at the heart of all its business. All young people deserve the very best chance to make progress in their lives through education. That is why we believe it’s vital to recognise inspirational teachers, for their commitment to teaching and learning and improving the life chances of the next generation.’

For more information, contact Elaine Riley, Interim Head of School, Churchill Community College, (0191) 234 7200